Skip to Page Content



    The Human Resource Certification Institute (HRCI) is the leading independent, internationally recognized certifying body for the HR profession. HRCI certifications require professionals to demonstrate their expertise in the core principles of HR practice and the application of those principles. HRCI's three core certifications meet the needs of nearly every HR professional.


    HRCI offers four certifications for HR professionals:

    • PHR® (Professional in Human Resources)
    • SPHR® (Senior Professional in Human Resources)
    • GPHR® (Global Professional in Human Resources)
    • PHR-CA and SPHR-CA (PHR with state certification in California and SPHR with state certification in California)

    Certification is a voluntary action by a professional group to establish a system to grant recognition to professionals who have met a stated level of training and work experience. Certified individuals are usually issued a certificate attesting that they have met the standards of the credentialing organization and are entitled to make the public aware of their credentialed status, usually through the use of initials (i.e., PHR or SPHR) after their names.

    Certifications differ from certificate programs because certifications include an experience component. Certificate programs, on the other hand, award certificates once a course of study has been completed and do not require previous work experience.

    For more information on certification go to

    How can SCHRP help you?

    If you or someone you know is intrested in being apart of this program or have any questions, please contact Mary Feuerbach at

    SHRM Foundation Scholarships and Awards

    The SHRM Foundation has committed a total of $100,000 annually for scholarships to be awarded to national SHRM members pursuing a degree in human resources or SPHR, GPHR, PHR or California certification. In addition, chapters and state councils are eligible to compete for the scholarship monies to fund programs that promote SPHR, GPHR, PHR or California certification. (Note: National SHRM members includes professional, general or associate members. Student members and local-only members of chapters are not eligible for this scholarship program.)